Judge Lebogang Madiba was recognized as the new one The President Special Tribunal from May 1, 2022

Two judges of the Free State Supreme Court, Soma Naidu and Johannes Duffy, have been named as new additional members.

This was stated in a statement by the Special Tribunal on Monday.

Judge Madiba, a judge of the High Court, Gauteng and Johannesburg divisions and recently appointed to the Electoral Court, has been a member of the Special Tribunal since 2019. Judge Madiba takes the helm from retired Judge Mindelva Gidfoni Mahani.

‚ÄúThis, according to section 7 (1), (2) and (3) (4) and (5) of Act 74 on Special Investigation Units and Special Tribunals of 1996 (Act 74 of 1996), after consultation with the Chief Justice South Africa and from 1 May 2022: to appoint Judge Lebaganga Madiba as President of the Special Tribunal (s) as additional members of the Special Tribunal, Mr. Judge Johannes Daufe and Ms. Judge Soma Naida (c a) Free State Chamber of the High Court “- said in a proclamation signed by President Cyril Ramaphosa on Monday.

READ ALSO: Special tribunal orders SAP to pay government more than 413 million rupees

Judges Daufe and Naida replace Judge Billy Motle, who has since been appointed to the Supreme Court of Appeal (SCA); retired Western Cape High Court Judge Siraj Desai, who is now a legal ambassador; and Judge David van Zyl, who focuses on his role as Vice-President of the Eastern Cape Branch.

The surviving members of the Special Tribunal are Judges Tina Seawendo; Cantarubi Pilay; Johannes Willem Extin.

Ramaphosa thanked Judge Mahan for his work at the Special Tribunal for the past three years and wished him success in his resignation.

Source by [author_name]

Previous articleTeachers’ unions in Free State complain about shortage of teachers at the initial stage – SABC News
Next articleThe first psychedelic testing company in Europe will open in London