Bronkhorstspruit will host the third round of the 2022 South African Rally Championship this weekend and the #TeamHilux Bronkhorstspruit 400 is expected to play a major role in the outcome of this year’s title chase.

Going into the event, Shamir Wariyava and Danny Stassen (Gazoo Racing Toyota Hilux T1+) lead the overall production car championship, followed by other Gazoo Hilux T1+ teams such as defending champions Henk Lategan/Brett Cummings, Geniel de Villiers/Denis Murphy, Guy Botterill. /Simon Wassey-Lyle and the Horn brothers, Johan and Werner.

READ ALSO: Lategan and Toyota open the rally raid season

They will be chased by the two Ford Castrol Rangers T1+ Neil Woolridge Motorsport of Lance Woolridge/Alvin Vonk and Gareth Woolridge/Boyd Dryer.

Leading the FIA ​​T1 class will be the #TeamHilux Rally-Raid Toyota Hilux of Eben Basson/Leander Pienaar, up against teammates Fouche/Bertus Blinaut, Gary Bertholdt/Juan Meur (Toyota Hilux), Philippe Botha/Roolf Janse van Vuuren (Nissan Red-Lined Navara), Chris Visser/Albertus Venter (Red-Lined REVO), Johan de Bruyne/Gerhard Schutte (Red-Lined Nissan Navara), Thomas Bell/Wade Harris (REVO) and Henny de Klerk/Adrian Roths (TreasuryOne) . Volkswagen Amarok).

Leaders in the Special Vehicle category should include Loud du Preez/Chris Visser (Farmers Meat Stryker). Image: Andre’ Schoemen.

The new FIA T1.2 two-wheeler class will feature two French teams. Mathieu Seradori and Loic Minadier will drive the Century CR6, while Jerome/Maxim Galpin will lead the event in their Century CR6, as will class leaders Brian Baragwanet/Rodney Burke.

Other locally produced CR6 bogies will include Lance Trethevy/Leonard Kremer (King Price Xtreme), the JCP Steel team of Ernest Roberts/Henry Köhne, Malcolm/Frans Kok, and Dewald van Breda/Johann du Toit.

Jaden Els/Armand du Toit (King Price Xtreme Renault Duster) lead the T class, followed by Johan/Sean van Staden (KEC Renault Duster) and the Neil Woolridge Motorsport Ford Ranger team of Christ Rose/Arnaud Olivier.

Bronkhorstspruit Rally-Raid Series 2022 preview
Gareth Woolridge and Boyd Dreyer’s NWM Ford Castrol T1+ Ranger could upset Toyota’s battle plan. Photo: Andre Schoeman.

Leading the way in the Special Vehicle category will be Tim Howes/Gary Campbell (Timdrew BAT Spec 4), followed by the likes of Trace Price Moore/Alaric Smith (Tip Top Milk BAT Venom), Lud du Preez/Chris Visser (Farmers Meat Stryker ), Sandra Labuscagne-Jonck/Jaco Jonck (KEC BAT Viper).

Werner/Jan Mostert (Moto-Netix Can-Am) lead the G-Class Side-x-Side Championship, challenged by Jeff Minnitt/Gerhard Snyman (Hydro Power Can-Am), Glenn Teran/Craig Galvin (Moto-Netix Can-Am) , Cecil / Allardus Larney (Can-Am) and Peter Walter / Pierre Jordan.

The #TeamHilux Bronkhorstspruit 400 starts Friday at noon from the Soetdoring restaurant. Teams must complete a short 15km Pirelli qualifying race that will determine the starting order for the 83km loop, which starts at 2pm.

Bronkhorstspruit Rally-Raid Series 2022 preview
Werner/Jan Mostert (Moto-Netix Can-Am) leads the Side-x-Side G class championship, photo: Andre Schoeman.

The Soetdoring restaurant next to Bronkhorstspruit will host the start and finish on both days, the race headquarters and designated service park.

Racing resumes at 8.00am on Saturday 20th August when the teams complete the first of two 160km laps in the order of Friday’s results. There will be a mandatory 30-minute service break between two cycles on the DSP.

Spectators are invited to experience the races from various vantage points along the route. The race can also be followed on the RallySafe app.

Source by [author_name]

Previous articleVIDEO: 1da Banton & Zlatan Unveil New Visual For ‘No Sleeping’
Next articleLiberia: President Weah removed appointed officials